1hr 09mins
Dir: Roy William Neill
Starring: Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce

When members of an ‘exclusive’ club start being killed, Holmes is called to their remote Scottish mansion to investigate

The House of Fear was the tenth film in the Basil Rathbone / Nigel Bruce series of 14 Sherlock Holmes films which updated the characters created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle to the then present day. The film is credited as an adaptation of Conan Doyle’s 1891 short story The Five Orange Pips and it features one brief closeup shot of the smokebox and boiler of the Flying Scotsman. Used to depict Holmes and Watson’s journey to Scotland, the shot is a stock footage clip from the 1929 film The Flying Scotsman – qv.

The stock shot of Flying Scotsman used in The House of Fear